Beauty

My Favourite Lip Balms for Dry Lips

I don’t about you but I am a lip balm addict, like I literally have a lip balm everywhere. I have one in my car, my college bag, my hand bag, my make up (I’m pretty sure there’s 3 in it), my overnight bag, my bedside locker, my car, my jackets.. and yes, the list goes on😂!! I wear it all day every day and I put it on every night, I just cannot go without it. Sean will tell you himself, if I don’t have my lip balm at night I’m like a demon because I can’t go to sleep without it. I know you’re probably thinking I’m a little weirdo and I should probably go and get checked 😂😂, but that’s just me!

I was going to put them in order but I actually can’t choose between the three of them 🤔 so in no particular order, these are my all time favorite lip balms.

Blistex MedPlus

I use this lip balm if my lips are particularly dry or sore (I’m a wagon for pulling at the skinblistex on my lips and I always make them sore!). It contains Jojoba Oil and Cocoa Butter for conditioning and Menthol to soothe and cool your lips. I personally love any menthol lip balms. It also contains SPF 15 so it’s perfect for when you are away as it will protect your lips from the sun. If you get cold sores this lip balm is a savior for relieving your lips of itch and also stopping them from cracking and drying up. You can get it in many pharmacies, I get mine in Boots and it’s only €3.79.

Carmex

My Mam introduced me to this little jar of wonder and it is definitely one I will use forever.carmex I like to put this one on at night as it contains salicylic acid and this helps to get rid of any dead or peeling skin. I also wear it in work because the air conditioning in work can really dry out my lips, and you don’t need to keep applying it either. I also wear it under any matte liquid lipsticks as I find my lips don’t dry out with it on. It contains Cocoa Butter to moisturize and has menthol for that soothing effect too. If you aren’t a fan of the menthol smell they do have a cherry flavour one which is yummy. Again you can get this in most pharmacies but the best place to get it is Penneys, I think it’s around €3.49.

ChapStickchapstick-flava

The Chapstick has been around for decades, I’m pretty sure I read somewhere that it’s been around since the early 1900’s 🤓. I always remember my Godmother Betty using Chapstick, the original one with the black label. I used to love using it when I was small, the smell of the original one brings back so many memories! I am genuinely using these lip balms since I was in Primary School, I always kept one in my shirt chapstickpocket and my pencil-case, I still keep a strawberry one in my pencil case!! This would be my day-to-day one when my lips aren’t sore or dry or anything. Some of them contain SPF which again is great for using when you are away. I normally pick up the Flava Craze ones because they contain SPF, and these are the ones I am buying since I was in school. The flavours are just so nice 😍. And again you can get these in most pharmacies, I always find the Flava Craze in Superdrug. I think the single Chapsticks are around €1.49 and the pack is just under €4.00.
eos
So these are my all time favourite lip balms, and now I feel it necessary to throw in some honorable mentions. You all probably know what the EOS lip balms are, they are very popular lately. I picked some up in New York last year and I gave them a try, I have to be honest and say they’re not up there in my all time favourite or best lip balms. Don’t get me wrong they’re great for softening lips etc. but I just feel like they don’t stay on your lips for very long. The only one that I used that I felt lasted loccitanelong enough was the little blue menthol one. Then there’s the L’Occitane Ultra Soft Balm, now this stuff is pretty amazing, my lips are so so so soft when I use this for a while. BUT the only thing is the texture is a bit harder and it can sometimes go on my lips white instead of clear. So if I am using it I tend to use it at night time. But this is just my own opinion on these two products, don’t take my word for it and don’t be put off trying them, some products aren’t for everyone!

Anyway guys, I hope you enjoyed today’s post and as always, thank you for reading 😍

El xx

Standard