Makeup Must Haves

Must Haves for Oily Skin 🤗

Hello everyone! I’m sorry that I have been MIA for a while, I had my end of Semester exams in college and I finally finished up on Friday – THANK GOD!! I forgot how stressful exams are, and I know they shouldn’t stress you out that much because at the end of the day all you can do is your best – and what is better than your best right? Anyway, now that they’re over and done with I will be back blogging weekly 😘

So, as I mentioned in my Slay-liners post, I have really oily skin that I have battled daily since I was about 13. You know, I do realize that having oily skin is both a good and a bad thing, the main bad thing for me is that my make up slides off after a few hours, and I get a shiny head and let’s be honest – shiny heads are not really a good look. While I am aware that strobing and dewy skin is a thing, I am more of a matte person… who loves a hella lotta Highlight 😅.

I am constantly changing my skin care products to help and the one product that has changed things dramatically for me is the Simple Light Moisturizer. I have tried so many Moisturizers that are oil free and mattifying and specifically for oily skin and one day I decided to try the opposite. I used to use it years ago when I was a teenager as I have sensitive skin and at the time I was starting to get some teenage pimples (nightmare!). My friend Ashley gave me two bottles that she wasn’t using and I just said I would try them again.  I remember reading somewhere that your skin produces oil due to a lack of moisture – so I thought, these oil free and mattifying moisturizers could potentially be drying out my skin and therefore making it oilier, or just not helping things. The Simple Moisturizer is fragrance free, colour free and has no crazy chemicals either (also it’s cruelty free). So since I’ve started using this, my skin is literally glowing and I’ve found that my make up is lasting much longer now that I’ve started using it. It’s also definitely not as oily as it used to be.

Another thing I’ve started to use is facemasks – If you follow me on Instagram and you watch my Instagram stories you’re probably aware that I love facemasks and do one at least once a week. I have tried loads – and I have decided just this second that I will save this for another post this week. So – keep an eye out for a Face Mask Blog Post 💆.

Now – for this week’s Makeup Must Have Monday I have chosen three products that are my ultimate Makeup Must Haves for oily skin ☝🏽

  1. The Urban Decay Original Primer Potion. This little gem is m3605970943844_espptravel_originaly all time favorite eyeshadow primer. I always apply this to my eyelids and I apply a small bit under my lower lash line before I apply my eyeshadow. It’s really easy to use I just put a small bit on my lid and rub it in with my finger or a kabuki style concealer brush. It makes blending my eyeshadow easier and also really helps to bring out the eyeshadow’s pigment. It dries really quick and invisible. Before I used this all my eyeshadow would  gather in my crease and ruin my hour of blending and perfecting my eyes – which as we all know, is so fucking annoying!! So now when I use it my eyeshadow lasts an 8 hour shift in work – or a night out dancing in a hotbox nightclub😄. Urban Decay is a cruelty free brand and you can get in Debenhams for €21.00. One little bottle lasts me ages because you only need to use a small bit on your eyes per application.csm_776883_9bd145ecee
  2. The Catrice Prime and Fine Pore Refining Anti Shine Base (that’s a
    really long name isn’t it or is it just me 🤣). After I apply my moisturizer I apply this primer all over my face, bar my eyes. It doesn’t dry matte or anything it just absorbs into your skin really quick and leaves your skin feeling and looking silky smooth. I really like this product because my foundation DOES NOT, I repeat, DOES NOT move. I wear it under my foundation or my bb cream, whatever I’m in the mood of wearing, and my face stays shine free for at least 8 hours. You can get it in Penneys and some Bradley’s Pharmacy and I thinnnnk its about €5.00? (and just to add – this is also cruelty free).
  3. The Urban Decay De-Slick Oil Control Setting Spray is by far one of file_000-2the best setting sprays I have ever used. I picked mine up in Sephora when I was in New York and was so impressed with it I have used it ever since. I just spray it on my entire face when I am finished all my make up and VOILA. It sets your make up and
    leaves a nice matte finish. I’ve worn it on a 12 hour shift in work, all day and night at a wedding and my make up didn’t melt or go shiny – nada. 100% a must have for your make up bag people! You can get it in Debenhams, the travel size which is the one I have is €40.00.

 

I hope that you all enjoyed this week’s Makeup Must Have Monday. I will have a few more blog posts this week so if you enjoyed this, keep your eyes peeled 😘.

P.s. In case you’re wondering why I am saying the products are cruetly free is because I have recently decided that I am now only going to use Cruelty Free products. I am still doing loads and loads of research so if anyone has any cruelty free brand recommendations that you think I might not know about, I would love to hear about them!

As always – thanks for reading 😘.

 

El xx

 

Standard